

#### MHRD Govt. of India Govt. of India K Govt. of

#### UNION CHRISTIAN COLLEGE, ALUVA

Affiliated to Mahatma Gandhi University (MGU), Kottavam, India NAAC Re-Accredited with A Grade in IV<sup>th</sup> cvcle (Centenary Celebration Initiative) **Chief Patron Rev. Prof. Thomas John** Manager Patron Dr. David Saj Mathew **Principal/DDO IQAC & Department of** Chemistry **Organizing Committee** Dr. Simi Pushpan K (Convenor) Dr. Manju M George (IQAC Coordinator & **Co-Convenor**) Ms. Smitha Roy (Organizing Secretary) **Dr. Jenish Paul** (Joint Organizing Secretary) Contact Us: Dr. Simi Pushpan K (9945832700) Dr. Manju M George (9496106863) chemwebinars@uccollege.edu.in



Guest of Honour Prof. Dr. Sabu Thomas Vice Chancellor, MGU, Kottayam, Kerala



**Dr. David Saj Mathew** Principal/DDO Union Christian College, MGU



Chief Guest Prof. Dr. Ved Prakash Former Chairman, University Grants Commission, Government of India New Delhi

Guest of Eminence &

**Keynote Speaker** 

Prof. Dr. A. K. Bakhshi

Vice Chancellor, PDM

University, Haryana. Chairman, GAD-TLC of MHRD

**Distinguished Speaker** 

Dr. Vimal Rarh

Project Head & Joint Director,

GAD-TLC of MHRD



**Dr. Jaswinder Singh** Principal, SGTB Khalsa College, DU Director, GAD-TLC of MHRD

#### 28 August 2020 (Friday) : 10.30 AM to 2.00 PM

(Zoom Platform and YouTube live for all participants) Last date for registration: 9:00 AM, 28 August 2020 Registration Fee : Rs. 150/- (E-Certificates will be available only to the registered participants) REGISTRATION LINK: https://forms.gle/VJCprBy7iYsFvB6p8 Beneficiary Details: A/c Holder Name : The Principal, U.C.College, Aluva A/c number : 856610100006445 ; IFSC : BKID0008566 Bank : Bank of India, U.C.College Branch, Aluva



Guru Angad Dev Teaching-Learning Centre of MHRD (PMMMNMTT) SGTB Khalsa College, Delhi University

CO-PATRON Dr. Jaswinder Singh Principal, SGTB Khalsa College, DU Director, GAD-TLC of MHRD

NATIONAL COORDINATOR Dr. (Mrs.) Vimal Rarh Project Head & Joint Director, GAD-TLC of MHRD

Coordinator, National Resource Centre of Chemistry of MHRD

### About the Department of Chemistry

The Department of Chemistry was initiated in 1926 from the very inception of the Science stream of the Intermediate Course in the College. Prof. T. R. Anantharaman was the founder Professor and Head of the Department. The B.Sc course in Chemistry was started in 1953. Under the inspirational leadership of Dr. A. M. Chacko, the PG course was initiated in 1982. Owing to the untiring efforts of the eminent faculty, the research activities gradually increased, and the department attained formidable reputation in the national scene as one of the finest schools of chemistry for graduation. With the advent of the new era, the department is marching forward in newer areas of research and teaching with 9 young and energetic faculty members who has industrial and academic exposure from premier institutes of India and abroad. Three of them are recognized research guides of Mahatma Gandhi University. Chemistry division offers research opportunities in a wide range of interest from traditional organic, bio-inorganic chemistry to new frontiers of material research, medicinal chemistry and nano science.

# **About GAD TLC of MHRD**

"Guru Angad Dev Teaching Learning Centre" is a centre of MHRD under the Pandit Madan Mohan Malviya National Mission on Teachers and Training (PMMMNMTT) of the MHRD, Govt. of India. The objectives of the Teaching Learning Centre are to prepare Modern age teachers. Under this centre many National level activities like Seminars, FDPs and workshops at both basic and advanced level are being conducted to empower the teachers in ICT skills, develop teaching kits / teacher's tools and ICT empowered pedagogies to enhance teachinglearning process. In its various programmes, around 25000 teachers across the nation have benefitted till now. The GAD-TLC is not only conducting MHRD's newly introduced Faculty Induction Program (FIP), but also provided inputs in designing the content framework for the same to be implemented by all other centres for the FIPs. The centre has in-house e-learning technical expertise and infrastructure (video studio with virtual set technology) for e-content development in all formats including multimedia enriched video, animations, etc. as well as for virtual groups on LMS. The core team has developed more than 50 MOOCs for SWAYAM platform of MHRD, Govt. of India. GAD-TLC at SGTB Khalsa College, DU has been awarded the National Resource Centre of Chemistry, by MHRD, Govt. of India. The mandate of this National Resource Centre (NRC) is to conduct Annual Online Refresher Program for higher education faculty in Chemistry under the ARPIT (Annual Refresher Programme in Teaching) scheme of MHRD.



## **About Union Christian College**

Union Christian College (UCC), Aluva, a premier institution affiliated to Mahatma Gandhi University (MGU), Kottayam, Kerala would be celebrating its Centenary in 2021. The College is located on the banks of river Periyar, about 12 kilometers away from Cochin International Airport, Kerala. The college is a unique blend of rural character and cosmopolitan outlook and is a singular instance of a centre of higher education run on ecumenical basis and secular principles. The College which was established in an old court complex (Kacheri Malika) in the 18 acres of land donated by the Maharaja of Travancore, Mulam Thirunal Rama Varma V, was a rare and united endeavor of four young graduates from various Christian denominations (Prof. K.C.Chacko, Prof. C.P. Mathew, Prof. V.M. Ittiyera and Prof. A.M.Varkey) and is still an exemplary monument of unity in service. In 1925, Mahatma Gandhi visited the college and was impressed by what he saw and testified that he was "Delighted with the ideal situation". The College is proud to have produced eminent leaders, statesmen, artists, writers, teachers and scholars over these fruitful 100 years. The College is well known for its academic excellence and social commitment. It completed the fourth cycle of NAAC accreditation in 2017 with A grade (CGPA - 3.45).

#### **Organizing Committee members**

Ms. Minu Joys, Dr. Ajalesh B Nair, Dr. Nelson Joseph P, Dr. Neethumol Varghese, Dr. Divya Susan Philips, Dr. Sunil Sekhar A C